Home » Article » India

India

Vic Mem

It is a country of contrasts. The poor are very poor, and the rich getting very much richer.

Dress varies from state to state, as does dialect and languages. The food is many and varied, from spicy to sweet and sour.

It is my country of birth. Every time I go back for a visit, the smells and sounds accost me, and a feeling of nostalgia fills me. I love visiting, and seeing my late maternal grandmother’s old house, and visiting relatives that I have there.

It is the land of mysteries untold – of the Vedas, and untold numbers of ancient stories.

I feel proud to have such a heritage, even though I don’t fully understand the most of it, not having had the chance to grow up with it – I left with my parents when I was 2 years old.

I still feel that I carry a part of it with me – and always will. I feel that I have the best of both worlds, being an Indian Australian – and an early childhood spent growing up in Kenya, Africa. I feel very lucky indeed.

 

Leave a Reply

