Home » Article » The Light In Us

The Light In Us

TheGarden_small

The IT revolution is in full swing. Not only are computers getting faster, but they are also becoming more affordable to the average man (person). What is ‘new’ now, is ‘old’ in three years’ time. Take for instance, a lap-top that my brother-in-law bought 3 years ago; it was the latest thing then, but now, it is ‘chugging along’ as though the life has left it. It only had 512 MHz of RAM. Nowadays, it is commonplace for a laptop to have at least 2 or 3GHz of power, oftentimes more.

As for mobile phones – they are getting smaller by the year! Let us not go into the controversy over their health concerns – we can leave that for later. Cars are faster, more comfortable. Land sizes for housing is decreasing – sizes of houses themselves are increasing.

The world is getting smaller. We can go where we want, when we want. At least, many of us can; the boundaries between the ‘rich’ and the ‘poor’ is increasing. Many people in villages across the world cannot afford a square meal a day. Violence is rife in some parts of the world. When people walk down the street, they do not have the time to greet their neighbour. They are caught up in a selfish ‘me’ state – I must do this – this is happening to me – I want to be cooped up in my own room.

Why have we come to this state? Is it technology which is separating us from each other? Surely not – Facebook, Twitter, hotmail, yahoo – everything is at our fingertips. We can write messages to friends across the world, and view them on WebCam. We can call anyone anytime – everything is just a phone call away. But we are too busy, or too tired, or too…selfish?

I remember when my grandmother passed away. It was over 15 years ago. She had cancer of the liver, and we found out only at the last stages. I did not get to see her again. I never got to send her the ‘Thank you Grandma’ and ‘I love you Grandma’ cards that I had thought I would. I had thought of it so many times, but had never sent them. Once, she had shown me the cards that her sister’s grand-kids had sent, and I thought then that I would buy her some. I had so many opportunities, but the time never came.

Children nowadays spend 60 hours per week in childcare, away from their parents, who are busy earning money so that they can afford more. At the price of what?  A child’s well-being? These children have difficulty adjusting to society, and feel unloved. Many of them are violent, at such a tender age.

We must take accountability for our own actions. To use a much-used quote – money is not everything.

Take a good, long look at yourself. Deep down, ask yourself what you truly want – who you want to make happy, what you want out of life. Think about it till you reach the bottom of your heart – and find the answer. Is it to buy all the clothes you want, even though your wardrobe is overflowing? Is it to buy the latest car, even though your old one will do just as well? Or is it to make your little boy (or girl) happy, not by spoiling him with gifts because you feel guilty being away from him so much, but by actually being there for him – with love, the thing most precious to us all.

As you go away having read this article, I do not want you to feel that I am criticizing you. We are all caught in our own whirlpool of choices, emotions and what we think are necessities. Sometimes, we don’t even have time to think.

So that is all I am asking you to do. Think deeply about yourself, your friends, your relatives, anyone you care about. What do you want in life? And the answer will reveal itself.

Thank you for sharing this journey with me. And may the road before you be full of light and love; because deep down, that is what we all are – light and love.

Leave a Reply

